Advanced Midwifery Course at Bamalete Lutheran School of Nursing (BLSoN)

Advanced Midwifery Course at Bamalete Lutheran School of Nursing (BLSoN)

What is Advanced Midwifery Course ?

This course prepares suitably qualified, experienced midwives, who wish to pursue a career as an Advanced Midwife Practitioner, to develop their knowledge, skills and attitudes.

Advanced Midwifery Course at Bamalete Lutheran School of Nursing (BLSoN)

Advanced midwifery practice can be defined as “a level of midwifery practice at which midwives use their expertise, management and clinical leadership skills to provide evidence-based, tailored care for women and their families independently and autonomously.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which course is best for midwifery?

Diploma in Nursing | Diploma in Midwifery.

What are the 4 principles of midwifery?

The principles of continuity, informed choice, partnership and choice of birthplace remain essential elements of midwifery care within a collaborative practice.

What are the Specialities in midwifery?

Specialisations include neonatal nursing or health visiting. Professional midwives usually work in public or private hospitals, small maternity units, birth centres, or are self-employed. Check out our list of Master’s degrees in Midwifery.

What is the highest degree in midwifery?

To become a certified nurse midwife (CNM), you’ll need to earn a Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) with a specialty in midwifery. Before you choose a program, you’ll want to make sure that it’s accredited and fits your timetable, goals, and career path.

What are the 6 C’s of midwifery?

The 6 Cs – care, compassion, courage, communication, commitment, competence – are a central part of ‘Compassion in Practice’, which was first established by NHS England Chief Nursing Officer, Jane Cummings, in December 2017.

What are the pillars of midwifery care?

Ontario’s midwifery model of care is based on three principles: continuity of care; informed choice and choice of birthplace.

What is the full meaning of midwifery?

Midwifery is defined as “skilled, knowledgeable and compassionate care for childbearing women, newborn infants and families across the continuum from prepregnancy, pregnancy, birth, postpartum and the early weeks of life”.

What is the duty of midwife?

provide full antenatal care, including parenting classes, clinical examinations and screening. identify high-risk pregnancies. monitor women and support them during labour and the birthing process. teach new and expectant mothers how to feed, care for and bathe their babies.

What is the core of midwifery?

Midwives strive to ensure optimal birth for the whole family and provide guidance, education and support to facilitate the spontaneous processes of pregnancy, labor and birth, lactation and mother–baby attachment, using appropriate intervention as needed.

Who discovered midwifery?

The practice of midwifery can be traced back to the palaeolithic era (40,000 B.C.), where pregnancy and childbirth required women to give birth in challenging and often life-threatening environments. Women supported themselves during birth based on knowledge and skills they learned from observing other mammals.