List of District Commissioners in Botswana

List of District Commissioners in Botswana

What is District Commissioners?

A District Commissioner is an executive post in Malawi for the appointee in charge of the Districts or administrative localities in Malawi.

List of District Commissioners in Botswana

Sir Charles Warren, Special Commissioner, Military Commander

Sidney Godolphin Alexander Shippard, Administrator

Lieutenant-Colonel Frederick Carrington, Special Commissioner, Military Commander

Frequently Asked Question

How many district councils are there in Botswana?

Botswana is divided into 10 administrative districts, two cities, five towns and 11 sub districts. These are administered by 16 local authorities (district councils, city councils or town councils).

How many census districts are there in Botswana?

Botswana is divided into nine districts. These nine districts are Central, Ghanzi, Kgalagadi, Kgatleng, Kweneng, North East, North West, South East, and Southern.

What is the smallest district in Botswana?

The South East District is the smallest of Botswana’s Districts, occupying an area of only 1492 square kilometres.

What are the 3 types of councils?

These operate at a level below district and borough councils and in some cases, unitary authorities.

What is the biggest district in Botswana?

Central is the largest of Botswana’s districts in terms of area and population. It encompasses the traditional homeland of the Bamangwato people.

Which is the biggest village in Botswana?

Most of the country’s inhabitants live in large centralized villages of from 500 to 25,000 inhabitants. Serowe, the largest of these, is the traditional headquarters of the Bamangwato people.

When was the last census in Botswana?

The most recent census was the 2022 Botswana Population and Housing Census, which occurred in April 2022.

Who can stand as a local councillor?

To be a councillor you must be: British or a citizen of the Commonwealth or European Union. at least 18 years old. registered to vote in the area or have lived, worked or owned property there for at least 12 months before the election.

How many counselors are in a municipality?

All municipalities in the Philippines, with the exception of Pateros in Metro Manila, have eight regular members or councilors elected at-large.

What are the four functions of the council?

Council is responsible to ensure that the municipality meets all requirements established in legislation, such as the requirement to hold public meetings on certain matters, maintain roads, develop an annual financial plan (budget) and pass a tax levy by-law, appoint an auditor, etc.